How to Open a Bottle of Your Favorite Wine Without Drips and Spills

Hello Wine Lovers,

I have seen and have heard of many stories about opening wine bottles with kitchen knives, spoons, forks, house keys, scissors, air pressure, shoes, screwdrivers and what not. I have been forced to try some of these methods myself. I bet that you might have as well. Some of these methods might work just ok when you do not have your corkscrew handy. Yet if you lack some of the skills and experience this would turn into a true catastrophe. You might end up having vino slipped all around and place and tiny pieces of glass everywhere. Cleaning this up is not nice. I have even watched a video on YouTube where 2 boys break a toilet with a bottle of wine while trying to open it without a screw driver.

I would rather fill a glass or two and enjoy, than pull my hair and clean the mess up. There is nothing the works better that the old corkscrew!
So let me share with you how I open my bottles of wine in a few easy steps WITH a corkscrew:

Wine corkscrew - your best friend

  1. cut the foil – foil covers the top of the wine bottle to preserve the wine cork from oxygen and dust. While pouring it catches small drips of wine. I use a foil cutter. If you do not have one around you could easily use a knife and cut the foil about half an inch below the lip of the bottle. This would prevent your wine from touching the foil when pouring
  2. insert the corkscrew – I would place the tip of the wine corkscrew in the centre of the cork. Then I start twisting until I have 1 or 2 twists left. This will prevent from any tiny cork pieces falling in my glass of wine, which can change the aromas
  3. gently pull the cork – if you have a wing corkscrew you just need to push the wings down gently until the cork is pulled out. If you have a regular corkscrew – just pull the handle firmly and lift the cork up till it pops.
A winged corkscrew is the easiest way to open your wine
A winged corkscrew is the easiest way to open your wine

You are done!

That’s it for now! I hope you have enjoyed this quick wine tip. Make sure you sip a glass of your favorite wine and enjoy!

One thought on “How to Open a Bottle of Your Favorite Wine Without Drips and Spills

  1. Pingback: Pour Your Wine Without Drips and Spills | Powerful Tips For Your Wine Passion

Leave a Reply

