Taste Wine and Simply Enjoy Your Time with It

So where were we… yes, we have just poured a glass of wine and now it is time to taste it.
I have found out that getting familiar how to taste wine is no more complicated than learning how to appreciate nice music or decent art. I just had to teach my senses to find out which wine type gives me more pleasure.

A Man Tastes a Glass of Wine

I have selected two videos for you. They are both about the same topic and there is something else common in them than wine tasting – they both describe it as an easy process:

How To Taste Wine

by The Good Stuff

How to Taste Wine Like a Pro – Wine Simplified

by betterbooktv

Taste wine like a pro with these easy steps to evaluate wine and find out which one is your favorite one. I evaluate my wine in these three ways:

  • by sight – when I take a look at my wine, I will assess the color and density. This step takes just a few seconds – first I look straight down to the glass, then I hold it against the light, lastly I tilt it a bit to see the color. Seeing that wine looks clear and shows some sparkle, is always a good sign. The crystal clear wine glass will help you with this. Now I give it a swirl to see wine legs (the little drips on the inner rim of the glass). The more legs I see the stronger the wine is. Try with whiskey or cognac to see what I mean.
  • by sniff – I give my wine glass a swirl and take a sniff. There are over a thousand of aroma components in a glass of wine divided in three main categories – fruits, earth and wood. Trust your senses and find all the aromas in your wine. I use a wine aerator to reduce the amount of sulfites in the wine. It enhances the true wine aroma.
  • by taste – I have a sip to sense the flavor and structure. Flavors relate to fruits such as lemon, raspberry, coconut. Structure relates to sweetness, acidity, alcohol level, body, etc. This depends on the age and the region. A good wine should be balanced. To enjoy the wine at the same temperature I use a wine chiller stick. It preserves the right temperature for up to an hour. It is a small wine accessory that really makes a difference.

Once you have gone through these easy steps, you can determine for yourself whether you found your wine to be balanced, if there was anything unique, anything that impressed you, if it tastes good. To enjoy your wine to the fullest, always choose the one that tastes best to you.

If you are just like a friend of mine who differs wine by red or white and by the size of the bottle make sure you drop me a line for a peace of mind. He feels desperate.

One thought on “Taste Wine and Simply Enjoy Your Time with It

  1. Pingback: Enjoy a Bottle of Wine at the Perfect Temperature | Powerful Tips For Your Wine Passion

Leave a Reply

